Sunday, May 22, 2016

The 5 Stages of Injury

This post contains affiliate links. Please see my Privacy Policy

The first step is admitting you're injured.

Ok, maybe it's closer to the last step, like the stages of grief.

Stage 1: Denial

Is that a twinge I feel? No, I'm sure it's fine. It will be fine. I'll just keep on running.

Stage 2: Anger

What the hell? I've been running too well to be injured now!

Stage 3: Bargaining

I'm going to stretch and foam roll, then I'll totally be able to run. And I will ice, and wear compression. And, ok, I'll cut back on my mileage. That will totally work.

Stage 4: Depression

I guess I'm never running again. I'll just eat this giant bowl of ice cream.

Stage 5: Acceptance 

Ok, fine, I'll call the chiropractor.

I've never been to a chiropractor before but both Tom and his mom have had good experiences and thought it would help me out.

I went on Friday and the chiropractor was surprised I wasn't in more pain. He worked on my lower back and hips and did my adjustment, which is a really strange feeling if you haven't had one before. I'm already feeling a lot better, but I was so locked up that I'm going back this week to make sure things keep improving.

I was responsible and just took Buddy for a walk on Friday, and did a little slow jog/walk interval on Saturday.

I took a rest day today, mostly because I really wanted to finish reading Wicked. I never really got into it, but I can't just not finish a book.

Then I started reading The Plum Tree, which I am already way more invested in.

Read any good books lately?


  1. Oh this is only too true! I really hope the visits to the chiro get you on the mend and back to hitting the pavement!

    1. Thanks! I am definitely on the mend now, finally! :)

  2. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...